TESTING

TESTING

 

 

Dear Parent(s) or Guardians(s):

 

Our students in grades third through fifth will be taking the West Virginia General Summative Assessment in May 2017.

The ELA and math tests are each composed of a Computer Adaptive Test (CAT) and a Performance Task (PT), and Science (for 5th grade only) is composed of multiple sessions.

A CAT is based on student responses. The computer program adjusts the difficulty of questions throughout the assessment. A PT is an extended activity used to better measure capacities such as depth of understanding, research skills, and complex analysis, which cannot be adequately assessed with traditional style questions. A student must answer questions on both the CAT and PT to receive a score.

The West Virginia General Summative Assessment is not timed and sometimes a few students may need additional time beyond the school day. Most students do finish well before the school day ends, but I respectfully request that you encourage your child to perform to his/her best and take as much time as needed to complete the test.

Southside Elementary Testing Schedule

Day/Date

Grade

Test

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

 

3rd grade

Math

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

 

4th grade

Math

Thursday, May 4, 2017

 

5th grade

Science

Monday, May 8, 2017

 

5th grade

Reading

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

 

5th grade

Reading

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

 

4th grade

Reading

Thursday, May 11, 2017

 

4th grade

Reading

Friday, May 12, 2017

 

3rd grade

Reading

Monday, May 15, 2017

 

3rd grade

Reading

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

 

5th grade

Math

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.